First Semester Update

HAPPY NEW YEAR!

I thought I’d blog whilst wracking my brain for synonyms for ‘ensures’ for my essay that’s due in at the end of January.

So I’ve completed my first semester at uni. I’ve had my induction day to the hospital I’m linked with whilst on placement and I still haven’t given myself or anyone else food poisoning. I can’t judge if my first semester has been successful yet as my assessments are all in the first few weeks of semester 2. I’ve got an anatomy and physiology exam, an OSCE on BLS (basic life support, good ol’ “stayin’ alive”) and a 2000 word essay on compassionate care and communication to do. I started this essay a good couple of months ago, however because it’s such a dry subject (yes, my lecturers agree) it’s really hard to find the motivation to write the damn thing. I think there’s a fair few of my fellow first year paras who haven’t started theirs either, so that’s a little comforting.

I’ll be honest, I’m pretty nervous about this OSCE, although it’s just basic life support and I’ve been assured that it’s really difficult to fail, many of my class mates have been doing CPR and the training for more years than I could possibly imagine. I can’t say I feel completely comfortable and the style of OSCEs means that your assessor is the the voice and scenario of the whole assessment.

I’ve done a few practice questions online for A & P and I seem to be doing okay but it’s difficult to gauge just how much you’ve got to know. I’m hoping that a general knowledge across the systems will secure at least 50+%. Anything lower and I will be pretty angry at myself. I still don’t feel like I’m in training to be a paramedic as my lectures are all rather general. We’ve worn part of our uniform once to the hospital visit and have now got passes to get in, the photos on these cards are far from flattering. In fact, I was told that I look like ‘the girl from Slumdog Millionaire’ because I didn’t appear to be the colour I am in real life, instead I look like I’ve applied plenty of layers of fake tan.

I’m currently at home and there are more distractions that I realised there would be. Fitting in time to keep old friendships fresh as well as revising as well as finding time for family seems a little tricky.

Looking back on all I’ve said, I’m being rather negative. It’s been nice to be home to see everyone but cooking for yourself certainly seems easier, and you know what’s in the fridge when you’ve bought it yourself! I’ve made some good relationships with flat mates at uni and these few weeks have made me miss them, it’ll be nice to be back.

-YoungParamedic

Leave a comment